The Overwatch League Preseason Begins Today

From IGN - December 6, 2017
By Austin Wood

The inaugural season of Blizzard's Overwatch League kicks off later today with a series of preseason matches.

A total of 12 preseason matches will be held between now and Saturday, December 9, with the first match starting at 4 p.m. Pacific this afternoon. These are unrecorded exhibition matches with no prize money on the line.

Like the regular season, preseason matches will be held at the newly opened Blizzard Arena in Burbank, California at Burbank Studios. Matches will also be streamed via the Overwatch League website.

Modeled after traditional sports, the Overwatch League consists of 12 city-based teams with six to 12 players each. However, only 11 teams will compete in the preseason. Philadelphia representative Philadelphia Fusion dropped out of the preseason earlier this week "due to player logistics issues."

The League's 12 teams make up Atlantic and Pacific divisions.

The Atlantic division includes: Boston Uprising, Florida Mayhem, the Houston Outlaws, London Spitfire, Philadelphia Fusion and New York Excelsior.

The Pacific division consists of: Dallas Fuel, the Los Angeles Gladiators, Los Angeles Valiant, San Francisco Shock, Seoul Dynasty and the Shanghai Dragons.

As a result of Philadelphia's dropout, San Francisco Shock will play two games on the first day of the preseason.

You can find the full preseason match lineups and times on the Overwatch League website. Note that Friday and Saturday's matches will be determined by the results of the preceding matches.


Continue reading at IGN »